Digital Agenda for Europe

The Digital Agenda for Europe is the European strategy for digitally driven growth.

The Digital Agenda for Europe was launched in May 2010 by the European Commission as the first of the seven flagship initiatives of the Europe 2020 strategy for sustainable and smart growth for all. It succeeded the Commission’s “i2010” ICT strategy (2005-2009) although the Digital Agenda is much wider in scope.

The strategy has seven focus areas which together will promote a coherent digital economy in Europe by the end of 2015.

  • Establishing a fully functioning digital single market
  • Improving conditions for compatibility between ICT services (interoperability)
  • Strengthening online security and confidence in the Internet
  • Promoting deployment of high speed broadband
  • Investments in R&D in the ICT sector
  • Increasing ICT skills for all
  • ICT for societal challenges – e.g. climate, health and social issues